Only five times in history, the ARD international music competition has awarded the first prize for piano trios. Aoi Trio won this prestigious first prize in 2018, which made a breathtaking start to their international career.
Aoi Trio was founded in 2016 by Kyoko Ogawa (violin), Yu Ito (cello), and Kosuke Akimoto (piano), all of whom graduated from the Tokyo University of the Arts and studied at the renowned Chamber Music Academy of Suntory Hall (Tokyo) for 2 years. After winning at ARD competition, they continued studying under Dirk Mommertz (Fauré Quartett) at the University of Music and Performing Arts Munich.
Aoi Trio is appearing at more than 20 concerts every year at the major venues not only in Japan but Germany, Italy, France and Czech. Recently they are working 7 years project with Suntory Hall and 3 years resident program with Kioi Hall. Recent highlight includes the collaboration with Sapporo Symphony Orchestra for Beethoven’s triple concerto and with Nagoya Philharmonic Orchestra Casella’s triple concerto.
Aoi Trio has released four recordings “Haydn No. 27 and Schubert No. 2” and “Beethoven No. 1 and Mendelssohn No. 2”, “Martinu No. 1 & Dvorak No. 3” and “Schumann No. 1 & Schubert No. 1” which have attracted great critical acclaim. They received the Aoyama Music Award, Nippon Steel Music Award, Hotel Okura Music Award and Music Pen Club Award.
“Aoi” refers to the initial letters of their individual family names and is also the name of a flower in Japanese language, which is commonly known as ‘hollylock” in Europe and symbolises “aspiration” or “fruitfulness.”
Official homepage of Aoi Trio






これまでに日本で伊藤恵、中木健二、花田和加子、原田幸一郎、堀正文、松原勝也、山崎伸子に学び、ミュンヘンでフォーレ四重奏団のD. モメルツに師事。ヨーロッパと日本で公演活動を続けている。